
Health insurance options

OregonHealthCare.gov  |  1-855-268-3767 (toll-free)
440-5092 (01/20/HIM)

If you don’t have health insurance, or will be losing coverage through your employer or another 
program, learn about other options:
HealthCare.gov (the Marketplace)
You can apply for help and shop for plans at the same 
time.
Enrollment: Nov. 1 to Dec. 15 or within 60 days of 
a qualifying event (such as losing employer-based 
coverage).
Eligibility: Anyone legally present in the U.S.
What you pay: Varies depending on plan and if you 
qualify for financial help.
Financial help: Available based mostly on income 
and family size (the less you make, the more help you 
receive). 
To apply:

	• HealthCare.gov or 800-318-2596 (toll-free)
	• Washington Health Benefit Exchange 

WAhbexchange.org or 855-923-4633 (toll-free)

COBRA
COBRA is the continuation of your employer coverage. 
You keep your current provider network and coverage. 
Enroll within 60 days of losing job-based coverage. 
Anyone in the household who previously had access to 
employer coverage is eligible for COBRA. You pay the 
full cost of coverage, plus a 2 percent administrative fee.

Note: Unless your former employer stops contributing 
towards your COBRA premium, once enrolled in 
COBRA, you cannot cancel mid-year and enroll in 
a plan through the Marketplace without another 
qualifying event.

Oregon Health Plan
The Oregon Health Plan (OHP) is free health coverage 
offered by the state of Oregon. Apply at OHP.
Oregon.gov or get free help from a trusted OHP-
certified community partner. To get help, go to 
OregonHealthCare.gov/gethelp or call  
800-699-9075 (toll free).

Trade Act Health Coverage Tax Credit
The Health Coverage Tax Credit (HCTC) is 
available for eligible Trade Act recipients not being 
claimed as a dependent. Those who are eligible,  
receive a tax credit that covers 72.5 percent of the
employee’s insurance premiums. You must be
enrolled in an eligible plan such as COBRA, an
individual plan purchased outside of HealthCare.gov, or 
through your spouse’s employer coverage if the employer 
is paying less than 50 percent towards the premium. For 
more information visit go.usa.gov/x5MAM or call 
877-639-7700 (toll-free).

Medicare
Medicare, administered by the federal government, 
is for U.S. citizens 65 and older who meet residency 
requirements and some disabled people younger than 65. 
You may qualify to enroll mid-year after losing credible 
health coverage or you can enroll during the annual 
enrollment period from Jan. 1 to March 31. What you pay 
depends on your contribution level, the level of coverage 
selected, and when you enrolled. Info: Oregon Senior 
Health Insurance Benefits Assistance (SHIBA) program, 
800-722-4134 (toll-free) or SHIBA.Oregon.gov.

Compare your options
The Oregon Health Insurance Marketplace window 
shopping tool can take you through a few simple steps 
to find the right health plan for you and your family. You 
can compare available health plans and find out if you 
can get help paying for coverage. The information you 
provide is anonymous and not shared with anyone.

	• OregonHealthCare.gov/WindowShop
	• For free local help, visit OregonHealthCare.gov or 

call 855-268-3767 (toll-free)

TO FIND LOCAL HELP, VISIT 
OREGONHEALTHCARE.GOV



Opciones de seguro de salud
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Si usted no tiene seguro de salud, o dejará de tener cobertura por medio de su empleador u otro 
programa, aprenda acerca de estas opciones:
HealthCare.gov (Mercado de Seguros de Salud)
Usted puede aplicar para recibir ayuda y comprar planes 
al mismo tiempo.
Inscripción: del 1 de noviembre al 15 de diciembre o 
dentro de los 60 días a partir de un evento calificado (tal 
como pérdida cobertura por medio de un empleador).
Elegibilidad: Cualquier persona presente en Estados 
Unidos legalmente.
Qué es lo que usted paga: Varía dependiendo del plan y 
de si usted califica para ayuda económica.
Ayuda económica: Es otorgada en base al número de 
integrantes de la familia y sus ingresos (entre menos 
gana, más recibe). 
Para aplicar:

	• 	Visite CuidadoDeSalud.gov o llame gratis al 
800-318-2596

	• Intercambio de beneficios de salud de WA 
WAhbexchange.org o llame gratis al 855-923-4633

COBRA
COBRA es la continuación de la cobertura que usted 
tenía por medio de su empleador. Usted puede quedarse 
con la red de proveedores médicos y cobertura que 
actualmente tiene. Debe inscribirse dentro de los 60 
días a partir del día en el que usted perdió cobertura por 
medio de su trabajo. Cualquier miembro de su hogar 
que previamente tuvo acceso a cobertura por medio 
del empleador también es elegible para COBRA. Usted 
debe pagar el costo completo de la cobertura, más 2 por 
ciento de los honorarios administrativos.

Nota: A menos que su antiguo empleador detenga 
las contribuciones hacia su prima de COBRA que 
haya estado pagando, no podrá cancelar su cobertura 
a medio año e inscribirse en un plan a través del 
Mercado a menos que suceda otro evento de cambio 
de vida que califique.

El Plan de Salud de Oregon
El Plan de Salud de Oregon (OHP) es un cuidado 
de salud gratuito ofrecido por el estado de Oregon. 
Aplique en OHP.Oregon.gov. Obtenga ayuda gratuita 
de un socio comunitario certificado por OHP visitando 
OregonHealthCare.gov/gethelp o llamando gratis al 
800-699-9075.

Crédito Tributario por Seguro de Salud de la 
Ley de Comercio
TEl Crédito Tributario por Seguro de Salud (HCTC) es 
disponible para aquellos que son elegibles para dicho 
crédito y no son reclamados como dependientes. 
Aquellos que son elegibles, reciben un crédito tributario 
que cubre 72.5 por ciento de la prima del seguro 
del empleado. Usted debe estar inscrito en un plan 
elegible, tal como COBRA, un plan individual comprado 
fuera de CuidadoDeSalud.gov, o cobertura por medio 
del empleador de su cónyuge si el empleador está 
pagando menos de 50 por ciento de la prima. Para más 
información visite: go.usa.gov/x5MAM o llame gratis al 
877-638-7700.

Medicare
Medicare, es administrado por el gobierno federal 
y es para ciudadanos Americanos que tienen 65 
años de edad o mayores que cumplen los requisitos 
de residencia, así como también para personas 
discapacitadas menores de 65 años. Usted puede 
calificar para inscribirse a medio año si usted perdió su 
cobertura de salud creíble, o usted puede inscribirse 
durante el período anual de inscripción de Enero 1 
hasta Marzo 31. Sus pagos dependerán de su nivel de 
contribución, el nivel de cobertura seleccionada y de 
cuando usted se inscriba. Información: Programa de 
Asistencia con Seguro de Salud para Personas de la 
Tercera Edad de Oregon (SHIBA), llame gratis al 
800-722-4134 o visite OregonSHIBA.org.

Compare sus opciones
La herramienta para revisar planes del Mercado de 
Seguros Médicos de Oregón puede guiarle por unos 
pasos sencillos para encontrar el mejor plan de salud 
para usted y su familia. Puede comparar los planes 
de salud disponibles, y averiguar si puede obtener 
ayuda para pagar la cobertura. La información que 
proporcione es anónima y no se comparte con nadie.

	• OregonHealthCare.gov/WindowShop
	• Para obtener ayuda local gratuita visite 

OregonHealthCare.gov o llame gratis al  
855-268-3767

PARA ENCONTRAR AYUDA LOCAL, 
VISITE OREGONHEALTHCARE.GOV


