
How to Get  
Health Insurance  
in Oregon

Visit OregonHealthCare.gov  
to find FREE local help from  
an expert.

Don’t get penalized for not 
having health insurance. Sign up 
Nov. 1, 2016–Jan. 31, 2017.

www.OregonHealthCare.gov  |  1-855-268-3767
  					   

Other languages or formats
Call 1-855-268-3767 (toll-free) between 8 a.m. 
and 5 p.m. Monday through Friday to request  
this information in Español, Русский, Tiếng Việt, 
汉语, 漢語, You can also request information in 
large print or other formats.  

Sign up, renew, or  
change health plans  
at HealthCare.gov

Don’t have health insurance?  
We are here to help.  
•	 Learn about what plan might be best and most 

affordable for you.

•	 See if you can get financial help to pay for  
your plan. 

•	 Don’t get penalized for not having health 
insurance.

Did you buy health insurance last year?  
It is time to renew or change plans.  
Review your plan. Compare your options.  
•	 Your health care needs can change.

•	 Each year new plans are offered, benefits can 
change and some plans are discontinued. 

•	 Changes in income and family size can affect  
your financial assistance. 

•	 Check to see if you will be automatically  
re-enrolled in your plan. You may need to resubmit 
your information to continue your benefits.  

Visit OregonHealthCare.gov to find FREE  
local help from an expert.

STARTING NOV. 1, 2016SHOP AND ENROLL BY JAN. 31, 2017 
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Q:  Can I get help to pay for health insurance?

A:  Yes. Last year, seven out of 10 people in Oregon 
who bought insurance on HealthCare.gov received 
about $250 per month to help pay for their 
insurance. If you earn less than the amount  
shown below, you may qualify.

Q:  Do I really need health insurance?  
 I never get sick.

A:  Health insurance helps you stay healthy and avoid 
costly medical bills. If you have an accident and 
need surgery, you may pay $40,000 or more. 
Health plans offered through HealthCare.gov 
and the Oregon Health Plan (OHP) include some 
preventive services at no cost.

Q:  I don’t want to sign up. Is the penalty for  
 not having insurance really so bad?

A:  If you go without insurance for three or more 
months in 2017, you will pay a penalty. It is at least 
$695 for every adult in your family, plus $347.50 
for every child. That is a lot to pay for nothing in 
return, especially since the average cost of a plan 
in Oregon is just $142 a month.

Household size 
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Earn less than this each year? 
You may get financial help.

$47,520

$64,080

$80,640

$97,200

$113,760

$130,320

Q: How do I find the best plan? 

A: Here are the most important things to consider:

• Think about the type of care you need. 

• Think about any doctors or hospitals you would like 
to keep visiting as well as any prescriptions you 
need covered.

• Think about how much you can spend, and look for 
plans that fit your budget. Consider the monthly 
payment, deductibles, and co-pays.

Q: This is confusing. Can someone help me?

A:  Local community organizations and insurance agents  
across the state can help you find the health insurance 
plan that is best for you. Their help is FREE. Visit 
OregonHealthCare.gov or call 1-855-268-3767  
(toll-free) to find someone near you.

Oregon Health Plan (Medicaid)

Do you make less than $16,394 as an individual or 
$32,900 as a family of four? You and your family could 
qualify for free health coverage through the Oregon 
Health Plan (OHP). You can apply and enroll in OHP 
throughout the year. When it is time to renew your OHP, 
you will get a letter in the mail. For more information or 
to apply for free or low-cost health insurance through 
OHP, visit OregonHealthCare.gov or locate a community 
partner near you.

Take action now!  
Sign up, renew, or change plans.
HealthCare.gov 
1-800-318-2596 (toll-free) 
(TTY: 1-855-889-4325) 24 hours a day

Get free local help.
OregonHealthCare.gov 
1-855-268-3767 (toll-free) between 8 a.m.  
and 5 p.m. Monday through Friday 

•	 Find a local insurance agent or community 
organization that can help you for FREE.

•	 Get free help in your language.

DON’T MISS THESE  
IMPORTANT DATES.
NOV. 1, 2016 
First day to sign up, renew, or change plans.

DEC. 15, 2016 
Last day to sign up, renew, or change plans 
with a Jan. 1, 2017, start date.

JAN. 31, 2017 
Last day to sign up, renew, or change plans. 
If you don’t sign up, you could go a year 
without insurance. You could also pay a 
penalty when you file your 2017 taxes.


