
A GUIDE FOR  
SMALL BUSINESSES

Health  
insurance for 
you and your 
employees

SHOP + ENROLL, OREGON!
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Get affordable coverage  
for you and your employees

Shop and enroll today

If you don’t have employees, you may 
qualify for a health insurance plan through 
HealthCare.gov, where you can shop and 
compare plans.

HealthCare.gov is the only place where 
you can get tax credits to help pay for 
premiums and out-of-pocket costs such as 
co-pays and deductibles.

Visit HealthCare.gov or call 1-800-
318-2596 (toll-free) to enroll. You can 
also visit OregonHealthCare.gov or call 
1-855-268-3767 (toll-free) to find FREE, 
in-person help to sign up. 

You may also qualify for the Oregon Health 
Plan (Medicaid), which offers free or low-
cost coverage for low-income Oregonians. 
For example, if you earn less than 
$16,394 as an individual or $33,534 as 
a family of four, you may qualify. For more 
information visit OregonHealthCare.gov 
or call 1-800-699-9075 (toll free).

No matter how big or small, every company needs healthy 
employees, but small businesses have their own set of challenges. 
Oregon’s Small Business Health Options Program (SHOP) has not 
opened yet, but small businesses and nonprofits in Oregon can  
still offer affordable health insurance to their employees.

DON’T HAVE  
ANY EMPLOYEES?

Sign up at HealthCare.gov

Get insured

Nov. 1, 2016
First day to sign up, renew, or change plans. 

Dec. 15, 2016
Last day to sign up, renew, or change plans 
with a Jan. 1, 2017, start date.

Jan. 31, 2017
Last day to sign up, renew, or change 
plans. If you don’t sign up, you could go a 
year without insurance. You could also pay 
a penalty when you file your 2017 taxes. 

Next chance to enroll
•	 You may qualify for a special enrollment 

period if you have a major life change. 
This includes changes such as having 
a child, getting married or divorced, 
changes in your income, or for more 
information visit HealthCare.gov. 

Brought to you by  
the State of Oregon 
The State of Oregon is working with 
HealthCare.gov to help Oregonians 
get health care coverage. 

Have a problem with 
your insurance?
If you have problems after you sign 
up for insurance, please contact 
the Oregon Insurance Division.

Visit insurance.oregon.gov and 
click on “Get Help” 
Call 1-888-877-4894  
Email cp.ins@oregon.gov

Other languages 
or formats?
Call 1-855-268-3767 (toll-free) 
between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. Monday 
through Friday to request this 
information in Español, Русский, 
Tiếng Việt, 汉语, 漢語, large print, 
or another format.

IMPORTANT DATES
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SHOP + ENROLL, OREGON!

•	 Enroll at least 70 percent of your FTE employees 
in your SHOP plan. Employees with coverage 
through another employer plan, Medicare, 
Medicaid, the military, or veterans’ programs 
are not included in the calculation.

(Employers who enroll in SHOP 
coverage between Nov. 15 and Dec. 15 
each year can offer SHOP coverage 
without meeting this percentage 
requirement.)

Any small business in Oregon with one to 50 employees can purchase a certified plan directly from one of the participating insurers. And, if you have a small 
business with fewer than 25 full-time employees, you could be eligible for the Small Business Health Care Tax Credit. Your business qualifies for SHOP if you:

•	 Have an office or employee worksite within the 
SHOP’s service area. 

•	 Have 50 or fewer FTE employees.

•	 Offer coverage to all of your FTE employees 
(works ~30+ hours/week). 

You can work with an insurance agent or 
insurer to get the right group coverage for 
your employees. Certain small businesses 
may qualify for a tax credit to help pay for 
coverage if they purchase a certified plan.

If you don’t offer insurance to your 
employees, encourage them to get individual 
coverage through HealthCare.gov, where 
they may qualify for financial help to help 
pay the costs of coverage.

The IRS Small Business Health Care Tax 
Credit helps qualified small businesses 
lower the cost of offering health insurance 
to employees. Oregon small businesses 
must meet the following minimum criteria 
to qualify for the tax credit:

•	 Employ fewer than 25 full-time equivalent 
(FTE) employees (not including family 
members of owners/partners or seasonal 
workers who work fewer than 120 days 
during the taxable year)

•	 Pay average annual salaries of $50,000 
or less per employee

•	 Pay at least 50 percent of FTE employees’ 
premium costs

•	 Purchase a certified medical or dental 
plan from a participating insurance 
company

Learn more at OregonHealthCare.gov.

WHAT IF AN EMPLOYEE DECLINES 
MY INSURANCE OFFER?

If you have 49 or fewer full-time equivalent (FTE) 
employees, you don’t have to offer insurance, and you 
don’t face a penalty if you don’t provide it. Employers 
who have 50 or more FTEs may be subject to a fine 
if they don’t provide “affordable” health insurance 
coverage that meets minimum coverage standards 
for their employees in 2017. ”Affordable” coverage is 
coverage that costs no more than 9.5 percent of an 
employee’s annual income.

Fines by the IRS are calculated as follows:

•	 No coverage offered: $2,000 x (FTEs – 30) per year 

•	 Coverage offered but is not affordable or does 
not meet the MEC requirements: Lesser of the 
above equation or $3,000 x FTEs that receive 
an Advanced Premium Tax Credit 

For example, if an employer has 50 employees, 21 of 
whom get coverage through HealthCare.gov, and 
does not offer coverage that meets the requirements, 

the employer will have to pay a penalty of 
$42,000 ($2,000 x 21 = $42,000). Visit 
irs.gov to learn more about the Employer 
Shared Responsibility Payment.

Do I have to offer coverage for 
employees’ spouses and dependents?

No, but if you are unable to offer health 
insurance for your employees’ spouses 
and dependents, they may be eligible for 
financial help to pay the cost of health care. 
There is no tax penalty for your business 
if they get financial help. Have them visit 
HealthCare.gov or call 1-800-318-2596 
(toll-free) to enroll. They can also visit 
OregonHealthCare.gov or call 1-855-268-
3767 to find a local insurance agent to help 
find the right plan. 

If the insurance plan you offer meets certain 
standards of affordability and coverage but an 
employee decides not to sign up it, the employee 
can sign up for a plan at HealthCare.gov during 
the open enrollment period (Nov. 1, 2016 – Jan. 31, 
2017). Please remind your employees that they will 
not be eligible for financial help. If they don’t get 
insurance, they may also have to pay a penalty.

The penalty for not having insurance in 2017 is 
the higher of these two numbers: 

•	 2.5 percent of their yearly household income 

•	 $695 for every adult in their family plus $347.50 
for every child under 18 

HAVE EMPLOYEES 
AND WANT TO OFFER 

INSURANCE?

WHAT IS SHOP COVERAGE?

AM I ELIGIBLE FOR  
THE SMALL BUSINESS 
TAX CREDIT?

DO I HAVE TO PROVIDE INSURANCE TO MY EMPLOYEES? 
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